Defending Against DWI Charges: Serious Experience For A Serious Crime
John Delk Attorney at Law has been providing defense for clients in Texarkana and the surrounding Texas community against driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges for over 20 years. If you’ve been charged with DWI, you need a lawyer with the experience to help you fight it.
In Texas, operating a motor vehicle (on land, water or in the air) in a public place while under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a crime. The legal limit for alcohol in Texas is .08% blood alcohol content (BAC), but a person can still be charged with DWI if a police officer determines that their mental or physical abilities are impaired. If you are under the age of 21, any detectable amount of alcohol is against the law.
DWI Convictions Have Serious Consequences
A DWI conviction in Texas includes severe fines and mandatory jail time, including the following:
- First offense: Up to a $2,000 fine; up to 180 days in jail, including three mandatory days; and the loss of a driver’s license for up to a year
- Second offense: Up to a $4,000 fine, one month to a year in jail and the loss of a driver’s license for up to two years
- Third offense: A $10,000 fine, two to 10 years in jail and loss of a driver’s license for up to two years
In addition to the above consequences, the judge will also add state fines of $3,000, $4,500 or $6,000 at sentencing. Besides the criminal penalties imposed by the court, a conviction for DWI can have other consequences, too. A conviction will show up in a background check when applying for employment or school. It may affect family law and child custody matters and will severely affect your auto insurance premiums.
At John Delk Attorney at Law, our lawyer has extensive criminal defense experience, even for high-profile cases. A drunk driving conviction can affect your personal and professional lives. This is why it is important to get our help fighting your DWI charges.